11th Parliament: 49 aspirants for reserved seats set to be elected uncontested | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 17, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:32 AM, February 17, 2019

11th Parliament: 49 aspirants for reserved seats set to be elected uncontested

Forty-nine aspirants for the 50 parliamentary seats reserved for women are set to be elected uncontested as there are no rival candidates and none of them withdrew their nominations, Election Commission (EC) officials said yesterday.

None withdrew their candidature till 5pm yesterday, last date for withdrawal, returning officer Abul Kashem told The Daily Star.

He said today they will publish the names of candidates who won uncontested.

Election to the reserved seats was scheduled to be held on March 4.

According to the EC, 43 Awami League candidates submitted nomination papers. Four aspirants of Jatiya Party and one from Workers' Party of Bangladesh also submitted their nomination papers.

The reserved seats for women are allocated to political parties in proportion with their number of seats in the parliament. Accordingly, 43 seats are allocated to Awami League, four to Jatiya Party, one to BNP and Jatiya Oikyafront, Workers' Party and independent candidates each.



Syeda Zakia Nur, who was elected as the uncontested member of parliament from Kishoreganj-1 constituency, took oath at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban in Dhaka yesterday, reports BSS.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath of the MP elected on Awami League ticket, said an official release.

Zakia Nur is the younger sister of former AL general secretary and public administration minister, the late Syed Ashraful Islam. She was elected from Kishoreganj-1 in a re-election as the constituency fell vacant following the death of Syed Ashraf.

Ashraf, son of acting president of Bangladesh during the Liberation War and one of the four national leaders Syed Nazrul Islam, was elected MP from the constituency for the fifth consecutive term in the December 30 polls.

He died at a Bangkok hospital on January 3, the day when other elected lawmakers of the 11th parliament took oath.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News