Raushan left out of JP parliamentary board | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, August 25, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:04 AM, August 25, 2019

Rangpur-3 By-election

Raushan left out of JP parliamentary board

Jatiya Party’s senior co-chairperson Raushan Ershad was not included in the eight-member JP parliamentary board to nominate the party’s candidate in Rangpur-3 by-election.

JP chairman GM Quader and secretary general Moshiur Rahman Ranga have been made convener and member-secretary of the parliamentary board, according to a JP press release.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant following JP chairman HM Ershad’s demise on July 14.

Party insiders said exclusion of Raushan in the JP parliamentary board is another clear sign of growing division among the top leadership of the party.  

Other members of the parliamentary board are: lawmakers Kazi Feroz Rashid, Golam Kibria Tipu, Shamim Haider Patwari and Lt Gen (retd) Masud Uddin Chowdhury; Sheikh Sirajul Islam; and Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury.

Nomination forms will be distributed from the party chief’s Banani office from today.

According to party insiders, the six nomination aspirants are: Ershad’s  son Shad Ershad, his youngest brother Hussain Mohammad Morshed, nephew  Asif Shahriar, JP’s Rangpur district unit president Fakaruzzaman  Jahangir, its acting general secretary Abdur Razzak, and Rangpur city  unit general secretary SM Yeashir. 

The Rangpur-3 constituency (Sadar upazila) is considered the stronghold of JP, the main opposition in the parliament. Ershad won all elections he took part in from this seat, following the end of his military rule in 1990.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News