49 women MPs for reserved seats sworn in to parliament | Daily Star
12:00 AM, February 21, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:42 AM, February 21, 2019

Reserved Seats for Women

Newly elected MPs sworn in

The newly elected MPs to the seats reserved for women were sworn in yesterday.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath-taking ceremony at Jatiya Sangsad.

The speaker administered the oath to 43 MPs from Awami League, one MP from Workers Party and one independent MP.

Later she administered oath to four MPs from Jatiya Party separately.

Acting Secretary of Jatiya Sangsad Golam Kibria conducted the oath-taking ceremony. 

The MPs also signed in the oath book. 

They are likely to join the ongoing maiden session of the parliament on February 24. The first session was adjourned on Tuesday till 4:45pm on February 24.

On Sunday, the Election Commission published an official gazette with the names of the elected candidates for the parliamentary seats reserved for women.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News