BNP expels 8 more renegade Upazila elections candidates
09:19 PM, March 05, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:32 PM, March 05, 2019

BNP expels 8 more renegade upazila polls candidates

BNP today expelled eight renegade grassroots leaders for joining the upcoming upazila election fray ignoring the party's decision.

The expelled leaders are: Liton Ahmed and Helena Akhter Chowdhury from Sreemangal, Abdul Moyeen Farroque and Pervin Akhter Lily of Kamalganj, SM Salimuddin Chowdhury of Chattogram's Lohagara, Afroza Begum Jolly of Patiya, Shah Newaz Begum of Chandanaish, and Shahida Akhter Shefu of Boalkhali.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Read more: BNP expels 82 more leaders for contesting UZ polls

A media statement signed by BNP Assistant Office Secretary Belal Ahmed said the BNP leaders were also stripped off their primary memberships.

The party has so far expelled 109 grassroots leaders over the last nine days for joining the upazila elections as independent candidates breaching the party's decision.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News