4 BNP MPs-elect take oath | The Daily Star
05:19 PM, April 29, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 07:52 PM, April 29, 2019

4 BNP MPs-elect take oath

Four BNP lawmakers-elect in the December 30 national election took oath as members of the 11th parliament this afternoon.

The four MPs -- Harun Or Rashid from Chapainwabganj-3, Aminul Islam from Chapainwabganj-2, Ukil Abdus Sattar from Brahmanbaria-2 and Mosharraf Hossain from Bogura-4 parliamentary constituencies – took the oath around 5:45pm.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban, our correspondent report from the spot.

They took the oath just four days after another BNP-lawmaker elect, Zahidur Rahman, took oath as MP in a surprise move on April 25 against the party’s decision of not joining parliament.

BNP took part in the December 30 national election and secured victory in only six seats out of 300 parliamentary constituencies. Besides, Gono Forum bagged two seats in the election.  

Seven out of the eight MPs-elect have already taken the oath. BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from Bogura-6 constituency, he did not take the oath.

With today’s four lawmakers’ oath, 299 MPs-elect out of 300 in the 11th parliamentary polls have so far been sworn in.

BNP along with Gono Forum and some other parties joined the election under the banner of Jatiya Oikyafront.

Earlier, Gono Forum's two MPs-elect Sultan Mohammad Mansur (Moulvibazar-2) and Mokabbir Khan (Sylhet-2) were sworn-in on March 7 and April 2 respectively.

After the December 30 national election, BNP and Gono Forum equivocally rejected results of the polls and brought allegations of vote rigging, ballot stuffing and widespread violence.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News