‘No foreign political leaders to attend Awami League's 21th council’
07:49 PM, November 02, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 09:53 PM, November 02, 2019

‘No foreign political leaders to attend AL’s 21st council’

Says Dipu Moni

Awami League is going to arrange its 21st triennial national council on December 20 and 21 to elect the party’s next leadership without presence of political leaders from foreign countries.

“As party’s custom, political leaders from different countries are invited to attend Awami League’s national council but this year it will not be done,” Dipu Moni, joint general secretary of Awami League, said this while talking to reporters at the party’s Bangabandhu Avenue central office in Dhaka.

Earlier, a meeting of sub-committee on reception formed as part of the party’s efforts to make the council successful, was held at the party office where AL Presidium Member Mohammed Nasim, convener of the committee was present.      

Awami League has chalked out March 2020 to March 2021 programme to observe “Mujib Borsho” across the country to mark the birth centenary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, she said.

The politicians from different foreign countries will be invited to attend the programme to be observed in the next year marking the birth centenary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, she said.

To make the party’s 20th national council meaningful, veteran political leaders of different foreign countries were invited to attend the council that held at the historic Suhrawardi Udyan on October 22-23, 2016 with Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

In response to the invitation, a number of political leaders from China, India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Russia, Australia, the UK and Italy joined the AL's triennial council, according to the leader.

The year-long programmes will be observed with the participation of mass people at the government, party levels and foreign delegates and thus foreign political leaders would not join the Awami League national council this year, she added.

Awami League re-elected Sheikh Hasina as President while Obaidul Quader as General Secretary during its 20th triennial council.


Related Topics

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News