Popcorn Highlights | The Daily Star
12:00 AM, August 03, 2019 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:00 AM, August 03, 2019

Popcorn Highlights


Yesterday is a British romantic-comedy, starring Himesh Patel, Lily James and Ed Sheeran. It has been directed by Danny Boyle, and produced by Tim Bevan, alongside others. The film revolves around a struggling musician, who wakes up one day to realise that The Beatles have never existed. Upon his realisation, he presents the iconic band’s songs to the audience, as his own, and quickly gains popularity. The film was initially released on June 26, 2019, and was distributed by Universal Pictures.

Family of Thakurganj

Family of Thakurganj is a Hindi action film, following the lives of people in a regular family, residing in North India. The film plays on the concept of tradition and modernisation, and how they may coincide. It was directed by Manoj K. Jha, produced by Ajay Kumar Singh, and stars Jimmy Sheirgill and Mahie Gill, among others. The film was released on July 19, 2019 in theatres.

My First First Love

My First First Love is a South Korean, romantic film, available on Netflix. It has been directed by Oh Jin-seok, and produced by Lee Sang-baek, and stars Ji Soo, Jung Chae-yeon and Jung Jin-young, among others. The series follows the life of five friends who move in together. It focuses on the bond that is created between them, and the relationships they form overtime. It was originally released on April 18, 2019. It currently has two seasons, with sixteen episodes, and is available in Korean, with English subtitles.

The Boys

The Boys is an American superhero, dark-comedy television series, available on Amazon Prime Video, created by Eric Kripke. It has been based on the eponymous book by Garth Ennis and Darick Robertson, and has been produced by Hartley Gorenstein. The series stars Karl Urban, Jack Quaid and Antony Starr, and tells the story of a group of vigilantes who make it their mission to right the wrong, by attempting to reveal the truth about superheroes who misuse their powers. It was originally released on July 26, 2019, and currently has one season with eight episodes.

Orange Is the New Black

Orange Is the New Black is a melodramatic web TV series, starring Taylor Schilling, Laura Prepon and Michael Harney, among others. The show was created by Jenji Kohan, produced by Neri Kyle Tannenbaum, and distributed by Lionsgate Television and Netflix. It is based on the memoir, Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison, written by Piper Kerman. The storyline follows the life of Piper, who gets sentenced to a women’s prison for some time, for a drug-related crime she committed ten years ago. The seventh and final season was released on July 26, 2019.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News