Mashrafe Bin Mortaza's four leads to Abahani's seventh | Daily Star
12:00 AM, March 07, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 12:23 PM, March 07, 2018

Mash's four leads to Abahani's seventh

A vintage Mashrafe Bin Mortaza took six wickets including a double hattrick in the final over as Abahani returned to winning ways in the Dhaka Premier League with a dramatic 11-run victory against Agrani Bank at the Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah yesterday.

Agrani Bank needed 13 runs off the final over to topple Abahani's impressive 290 for six. But the experienced right-arm pace bowler, who has so far made the league his own with controlled pace and variation, dismissed a menacing Dhiman Gosh (46) with the second ball after conceding a couple off the first delivery. The inspirational Bangladesh ODI captain then removed Abdur Razzak (12), Shariful (0) and Fazle (0) with the next three deliveries as the bankers were bowled out for 279 in 49.5 overs. Mashrafe, who eventually finished with 6 for 44 runs, also had Shahriar Nafees, who hammered a 119-ball 121.

Earlier, Abahani's impressive total was built around a superb 133 by left-hander Nazmul Hasan Shanto and a quickfire 28-ball 46 from Mohammad Mithun. It was Abahani's seventh win from eight games.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Although the bankers failed in the final over, Prime Bank overcame a stiffer challenge against Prime Doleshwar in the last over when they required 16 runs. Sajjadul Haque (51 off 38 balls) hit the second ball for six while Shariful hammered the fifth delivery from Mamun Hossain, a no-ball, for another six before stroking the winning single, another no-ball, as Prime Bank, chasing Doleshwar's 286 for five, reached 287 for nine for an exciting one-wicket win.

The match also marked two centuries with Marshall Ayub hitting a sublime 135 off 128 balls for Doleshwar and Mehrab Hossain Jr. hitting 102 and sharing 147 runs for the opening wicket with Mehedi Maruf (82) for Prime Bank.

At the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, a listless Mohammedan failed to chase down a modest 135 from Gazi Group. They were eventually bundled out for 108 in 33.2 overs with Nayeem Hasan claiming three wickets for 27 runs. He dismissed both Raquibul Hasan (22) and Mohammedan skipper Shamsur Rahman (19).

Earlier, holders Gazi Group rode on a 59-run seventh wicket stand between Asif Hossain (35) and Nadeef Chowdhury (28) to recover from a hopeless 6 for 50 to a modest total.


ABAHANI: 290 for 6 in 50 overs (Anamul 23, Saif 24, Nazmul 133 not out, Nasir 25, Mithun 46; Al-Amin 2-55, Salman 2-40)
AGRANI BANK CC: 279 all out in 49.5 overs (Nafees 121, Azmir 21, Raza 62, Dhiman 46; Mashrafe 6-44, Ariful 2-57
Result: Abahani won by 11 runs.
GAZI GROUP CRICKETERS: 137 all out in 35.4 overs (Hayet 18, Nadif 28, Asif 35; Onik 4-28, Azim 3-32)
MOHAMMEDAN SC: 108 all out in 33.2 overs (Jony 15, Shamsur 19, Raqibul 22; Mahedi 2-17, Nayeem 3-27, Tipu 2-27, Kamrul 3-35)
Result: Gazi Group won by 29 runs.
PRIME DOLESHWAR SC: 286 for 5 in 50 overs (Mahmud 45, Marshall 135, Farhad 67 not out; Pathan 1-19)
PRIME BANK CC: 287 for 9 in 49.4 overs (Maruf 82, Mehrab 102, Sajjadul 51; Mamun 2-46, Sunny 2-51, Sharifullah 2-47)
Result: Prime Bank won by 1 wicket.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News