Rajshahi win record-equalling sixth NCL title | The Daily Star
10:57 AM, November 08, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 02:32 PM, November 08, 2018

Rajshahi win record-equalling sixth NCL title

Junaid Siddique remained unbeaten on a ton as Rajshahi chased down the required target of 283 against Barishal Division in the Tier 1 match at Shahid Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi to win their sixth National Cricket League title.

The title also meant that they equaled Rangpur Division’s haul of six NCL titles and equalled the record for most NCL titles in the domestic circuit.

Starting the day at 182 for 2, Rajshahi picked the required 102 runs in the morning session in 25 overs as Junaid hit a terrific 181-ball 120, laced with 17 fours to take his side to a six-wicket victory. He starred in a 149-run partnership with Jahurul Islam for the third-wicket before the latter fell for a 108-ball 64.

Rajshahi had been promoted to the Tier 1 in this season after playing the previous season in Tier 2 and their sixth title came after a period of more than six years.

Farhad Reza and Mohor Sheikh were the heroes with the ball for Rajshahi with the latter bagging a five-wicket haul as Barishal were bowled out for just 97 in the first innings. Rajshahi then managed just 160 in their first innings before Barishal posted 346 in their second innings to leave Rajshahi with a 283-run-target in the last innings.


Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News