Bangladesh Cricket: BD fall short by 77 runs
03:28 AM, December 26, 2016 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:25 PM, December 26, 2016

Cricket: Bangladesh fall short by 77 runs

In spite of stiff resistance from the middle order batters, Bangladesh fell short by 77 runs chasing 341 against New Zealand at Hagley Oval, Christchurch today

The match was streamed live by Channel Nine Sports on their Youtube Page.

After Bangladesh lost quick wickets after a steady start and were on the back foot at 4-81 inside 18 overs, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim stopped the rot with a 63-run stand for the fifth wicket. Shakib got out at the wrong time for his side after he smashed 59 from 54 balls with five fours and two sixes to his name.

Young Mosaddek Hossain managed to fight back when the chips were down, and the 52-run partnership with Mushfiqur for the seventh wicket kept the visitors in sight of the target. However, Mushfiqur had to retire hurt on 42, hardly able to run and the required run-rate climbed above manageable proportions with only four wickets left.

Mosaddek remained unbeaten on 50 from 44 balls, his maiden ODI fifty. Bangladesh were all out for 264 in 44.5 overs.

For the Blackcaps, Lockie Ferguson and James Neesham took three wickets while Tim Southee captured two. Neesham took the important scalps of Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar and Mahmudullah Riyad in seven overs for 36 runs.

Earlier, opening batsman Tom Latham scored 137 as New Zealand posted a massive 341, their highest ODI total against Bangladesh.

The second ODI match will be held on December 29, 2016 at Nelson.

The Boxing Day ODI at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch is the first of three ODIs between Bangladesh and New Zealand, and will be followed up by a three-match T20I series before Bangladesh’s tour is wrapped up with a two-match Test series. 

Bangladesh have won seven of the last eight ODIs against New Zealand, having blanked them 3-0 and 4-0 at home in 2013 and 2010 respectively. However, New Zealand won their last encounter, the 2015 World Cup group match at home, and have also won each time the two teams have faced off in New Zealand. 


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza*, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed

New Zealand: MJ Guptill, TWM Latham, KS Williamson*, NT Broom, JDS Neesham, C Munro, L Ronchi†, MJ Santner

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News