Zimbabwe name Test squad | The Daily Star
01:38 AM, October 29, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 01:39 AM, October 29, 2018

Zimbabwe name Test squad

Zimbabwe have announced their team for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh, which will begin with the first Test in Sylhet from November 3.

Left-arm seamer Richard Ngarava was ruled out after sustaining a groin injury in the preceding ODI series, which the hosts swept 3-0, and will be replaced by veteran pacer Christopher Mpofu.

The 20-year-old Ngarava had played only the third ODI against Bangladesh, taking no wickets for 44 runs in five overs.

"Ngarava sustained a groin injury and also complained of pain in the gluteal region after our last ODI," the ICC quoted Zimbabwe national team physiotherapist Anesu Mupotaringa as saying. "Even with aggressive treatment, he will not recover in time for the Test series."

The second Test will begin in Dhaka on November 11.

SQUAD: Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Brian Chari, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Regis Chakabva, Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis, Brandon Mavuta, John Nyumbu, Wellington Masakadza, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chatara, Christopher Mpofu

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News