12:01 PM, December 06, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 05:26 PM, December 06, 2018

BNP gets back 4 out of 6 seats

EC rules candidates of Bogura-7, Dhaka-1, Jamalpur-4, and Manikganj-2 legal

With Morshed Miltan and Abu Ashfaque being ruled legal to run for the elections, BNP has gained back two of the six constituencies that fell void of BNP runners.

Later, Md Faridul Kabir Talukdar from Jamalpur-4 and Md Abidur Rahman Khan from Manikganj-2 constituencies were also ruled legal.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

After getting back Bogura-7, Jamalpur-4 and Dhaka-1, BNP is now left with no candidates in Rangpur-5, Manikganj- 2 and Shariatpur-1 constituencies.

Earlier this morning, Election Commission ruled legal the candidacy of Morshed Miltan from Bogura-7 and Abu Ashfaque from Dhaka-1 during hearing.

Their candidacy were rejected during the scrutiny process of the commission. Their rejection spelled trouble for BNP as it put those seats without their franchise.


Bogura-7 is Gabtali Upazila and Shajahanpur Upazila, with a voter base of 461,471 registered voters - 232,174 male and 229,297 females.

It is one of the seats that the ruling Awami League has left vacant for its allies, allowing Muhammad Altaf Ali of Jatiya Party to contest.

Among others running in the elections from this constituency are Mantejar Rahman from NAP, Shahidul Islam from BSD, and Abdur Razzaque from JSD.

Dhaka-1 constitutes of Dohar Upazila and Nawabganj Upazila, which is comprised of 440,407 voters – 216,805 male and 223,602 females.

The constituency has one of the world’s richest man Salman Rahman as the candidate from Awami League and Jatiya Party lawmaker Salma Islam running as independent candidate.

Jamalpur-4 constituting of Sharishabari Upazila has a voter base of 252,652 – among which there are 125,648 male and 127,004 female voters.

The constituency has Md Murad Hassan contesting with the ticket of Awami League, Rabiul Islam Tarafdar from Gonoforum and Mamunur Rashid from Jatiya Party.

Manikganj-2 constitues of Singair Upazila, Harirampur Upazila, and Hatipara, Bhararia, and Putail Unions of Manikganj Sadar with a voter base of 406,195.

The constituency has Momtaz Begum running from Awami League, Golam Sarwar Milon from Bikalpadhara and two independent candidates among others.


Election Commission has revised polls schedule, deferring the 11th general election by a week to December 30 – a decision taken on November 12.

The authorities have fixed November 28 as the deadline for filing nomination papers, December 2 for scrutiny and December 9 last date of withdrawal.

The move came following demands from several opposition political parties.


Chief Election Commissioner has said that there is a congenial atmosphere in the country – echoing the words of the ruling party.

However, major opposition alliances like the JatiyaOikyafront, which includes BNP, and the BikalpaDhara-led Juktafront have sought for delaying the schedule.

Until thus far, it seems that the coming parliamentary election will not be the “non-participatory election” that was its predecessor.

All the major political parties are gearing up to contest in the election and there has been no threats of a boycott or withdrawal unlike the last time.

Leave your comments