12:00 AM, December 09, 2018 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:24 AM, December 09, 2018

BNP leaves 53 seats for allies

Partners in 20-party get 34, those in Oikyafront 19

The BNP has left 53 seats for its partners in the 20-party alliance and the Jatiya Oikyafront for the December 30 polls.

The party is now finalising its candidates for another 45 seats. Earlier on Friday, it announced the names of its contenders in 202 constituencies.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Of the 53 seats, 34 are for the BNP's allies in the 20-party while the rest are for the partners in the Oikyafront, said party insiders.

Leaders of the partners in both the combines yesterday started collecting nomination letters from the BNP chairperson's Gulshan office in the capital.

All of the nominees, except Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) chief Oli Ahmed, will contest the election with BNP's electoral symbol “Sheaf of Paddy”. Four other LDP leaders, however, would be fighting with the BNP symbol, BNP insiders said.

For the partners in the Oikyafront, the BNP set aside seven seats for the Gonoforum, five each for the Nagorik Oikya and the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and two seats for Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL).

Except the two KSJL leaders, all the others from the Oikyafront collected nomination letters from the office.

Today is the last date for withdrawing nomination. Tomorrow, the returning officer will allocate electoral symbols to the MP candidates.

In the 20-party alliance, the BNP gave five seats to the LDP, two each to the Khelafat Majlish, the Jamiat-e-Ulama-e-Islam and the Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar) and one each to the Bangladesh Jatiya Party, the National People's Party, and the Bangladesh Minority Janata Party.

Leaders of the Jamaat-e-Islami, a key component of the combine, filed nomination papers in 61 constituencies. Of them, 25 leaders filed nomination papers with BNP's tickets and the remaining ones as independent candidates.

 The Jamaat cannot contest the election as a political party as its registration was scrapped. Therefore its leaders are contesting the polls as BNP candidates.

 The Jamaat wants the BNP to leave five more seats for its leaders. A negotiation in this regard is underway between the two parties, sources said. 


Gonoforum's Subrata Chowdhury was nominated for Dhaka-6, Mostafa Mohsin Montu for Dhaka-7, Sultan Mohammad Monsur for Moulvibazar-2, Abu Sayeed for Pabna-1, Khalequzzaman for Mymensingh-8, Reza Kibria for Habiganj-1 and Asma Amin for Kurigram-2, a senior leader from the newly-floated political alliance told The Daily Star.

Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal's ASM Abdur Rab was chosen for Laxmipur-4, Abdul Malek Ratan for Cumilla-4, Saiful Islam for Kishoreganj-3, Shahiduddin Mahmud Swapan for Dhaka-18 and Nurul Islam Mal for Shariatpur-1.

Nagorik Oikya's Mahmudur Rahman Manna would be contesting in Bogra-2, SM Akram in Narayanganj-5, Shah Md Rahmatullah in Rangpur-1, Mofakharul Islam Nabab in Rangpur 5 and JM Nurur Rahman in Barishal-4.

Among the BNP-led 20-party alliance, Bangladesh Kalyan Party got Chattogram-5 to contest.

Liberal Democratic Party was given five seats -- Oli Ahmed for Chattogram-14, Redwan Ahmed for Cumilla-7, Shahadat Hossain Selim for Laxmipur-1, Nurul Alam for Chattogram-7 and Morshed Alam for Mymensingh-10.

Jamaat leaders got 20 seats from the BNP. They will contest with “Sheaf of Paddy” in Thakurgaon-2, Dinajpur-1 and 6, Nilphamari-3, Lalmonirhat-1, Rangpur-5, Kurigram-4, Gaibandha-1 and 4, Bogura-4, Sirajganj-4, Pabna-1 and 5, Jashore-2, Bagerhat-3 and 4, Khulna-5 and 6, Satkhira-2, 3 and 4, Pirojpur-2, Sylhet-5 and 6, Cumilla-11, Chattogram-15 and Cox's Bazar-2.

BNP left Bhola-1 seat for Bangladesh Jatiya Party Chairman Andaleeve Rahman Partha, Jashore-4 for Bangladesh Minority Janata Party leader Sukriti Kumar, and Jashore-5 and Sunamganj-3 for Jamiat-e-Ulama-e-Islam leaders Mufti Md Wakkas and Shahinur Pasha Chowdhury.

Khelafat Majlish leader Ahmed Abdul Kader will be contesting for Habiganj-4, National People's Party (NPP) leader Farhaduzzaman Farhad for Narail-2, Jatiya Party (Jafar) leader TI Fazle Rabbi for Gaibandha-3 and Mostafa Jamal Haider for Pirojpur-1.

Meanwhile, the BNP yesterday issued the final nomination letters for Gaibandha-2 to Rashid Sarkar, Patuakhali-2 to Shahidul Alam Talukdar, Sylhet-1 to Khandaker Abdul Muktadir, Mymensingh-1 to Ali Asgar, Narayanganj-1 to Kazi Monir, Cumilla-6 to Aminur Rashid, Jamalpur-1 to Rashiduzzaman Millat, Netrokona-5 to Abu Taher Talukdar and Chandpur-3 to Sheikh Farid Ahmed Manik.

Leave your comments