Is he out this time? | The Daily Star
01:13 PM, April 23, 2021 / LAST MODIFIED: 04:45 PM, April 23, 2021

Is he out this time?

Bangladesh declared at 541 for seven in their first innings on day three of the first Test at Kandy and scenes prior to Mehedi Miraz's dismissal brought out a few laughs from the players.

It was the 168th over of the Bangladesh innings with Suranga Lakmal bowling to Mehedi, when the comedy of errors took place. Mehedi slashed at Lakmal's length delivery outside off stump and as the ball went to the wicketkeeper, the fielders went up in appeal, even as Lakmal initially did not join in. Umpire Kumara Dharmasena raised his finger but Mehedi reviewed immediately and the third umpire had to tell the on-field umpire to change his decision upon review.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

The next delivery shaped away from Mehedi more than the previous one, and the right-hander tried his best to get bat on it. The ball went behind to the wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella, who was convinced there was a nick. Dharmasena did not oblige and this time Sri Lanka reviewed before replays showed there was a huge gap when ball passed the bat. No edge. Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne was seen joking about how big the gap between bat and ball was.

That was not the end of the drama and unfortunately for Mehedi, he did nick the fifth delivery of the over through to the wicketkeeper. Dickwella, this time looked back at the umpire as if saying 'it's out this time, right?".

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Grameenphone:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Robi:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222


Banglalink:
Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News

Top